The Collection

Home Page > Works > Letters to Nadja from Andre Breton, Letters concerning Nadja

Letters to Nadja from Andre Breton, Letters concerning Nadja

Correspondence

Author

Authors Nadja, Gilbert Robin
Letter to André Breton
Person cited Nadja

Description

Nadja, a woman who writes, who draws, and is not only a person who is written about. The correspondence of the most novelistic and mythical person of surrealist literature.

Nadja, a woman who writes, who draws, and is not only a person who is written about. Meticulously preserved by Breton, her letters and notes reveal a character that is stronger than the author's pen. Such lipstick smudges [left] by her lips, such fervent drawings sent like this “flower of lovers” were reproduced by Breton in order to illustrate a love story, to supplement a text that rather insisted on a fascination with her character. To re-read Nadja in the light of these texts, does not allow for a reading of purely biographical elements, but rather casts her in a different light, [such] that might render you partial to Nadja's plight. It is made clear that Breton's fascination gives way to a personal and intimate relationship, a story of which this collection contains perhaps the last word: the letter of a doctor giving André Breton information about a visit, certainly never made, to she who descended into madness. [Atelier Andre Breton Website, 2005]

 

Original Letters Signed, October 9, 1926
- March 4 1927 - Twenty-seven signed original letters of Nadja to Andre Breton, October 9, 1926 - March 4, 1927 in a folder. 23 pages, folio in-4° of which one has an original sketch, 1 page, folio in-8°, 16 pages folio in-16 and 6 pneumatics. Andre Breton dated the majority of the letters in pencil and put them in envelopes, for the most part preserved. The collection was conserved in an ochre red folder, titled with green letters which forms the word "Nadja".

“This is so grand, my darling, this union of our two souls, so profound and so cold this abyss where I am drowning without expecting anything, as if in no way embracing the afterlife, and moreover once I return to you, you are there and your great eyes fixed on me and I move you, return to you, you are all that there is, the best, and I embrace you; you are there, but death is also there, yes, it is there behind you.”

“My beloved. Our way of kissing was beautiful, was it not? And Satan made it so tantalizing... But what is it worth after having spent a desolate night... black? ... or white! Truly, I do not know anymore. But I still descend again, alone, the staircase which led me to joy.”

“My word. I wanted to telephone you but, I am excessively nervous and afraid of making you anxious. I do not know what gives me such ideas. This is perhaps me thinking too much—or not enough—since I don’t know... I nevertheless no longer have any strength—oh, too bad—this is not enough, I wanted know, know what you’re thinking, my love... forgive me, you know that I am your slave and that you are everything to me, but I want even more. I want to take all of your troubles, suffer in your place; I want you to be happy. You are strong, beautiful, good, [but] it’s also important that you are the master and that everyone holds you in high regard, as I do in my love for you.

“It rains again, my room is bleak, my heart in an abyss, my reason is dying.”

“Thank you, André, I got everything... I do not want to make you lose time necessary for better things— all that you do is well done—nothing stops you—there are enough people who have as their mission to put out the Fire...it is wise to not burden oneself with the impossible.”

Exceptional correspondence of the most novelistic and mystical person of surrealist literature: Nadja. [Auction catalogue, 2003]

5 lettres de Nadja à André

étude d'après les lettres de Nadja

Creation date1926 - 1927
Bibliographical material23 pages in-4°
1 page in-8°
16 pages in-16
LanguagesFrench
Physical descriptionlettres et enveloppes, pneumatiques - encres diverses, crayon.
Library

Bibliothèque littéraire Jacques Doucet, Paris : BRT 43 (1-47)

Breton Auction, 2003Lot 2119
Keywords, , ,
CategoriesBibliothèque littéraire Jacques-Doucet, Libraries, Letters to André Breton
Set[AB's Manuscripts] Nadja
Permanent linkhttps://www.andrebreton.fr/en/work/56600100397790

Ressources

Accueil > Œuvres > Lettres de Nadja à André Breton <br/>Lettres concernant Nadja
56600100397790_1

Cliquez pour agrandir

Lettres de Nadja à André Breton
Lettres concernant Nadja

Correspondance

Auteur

Auteurs Nadja, Gilbert Robin
Personne citée Nadja
Destinataire André Breton

Visuel

56600100397790_1 56600100397790_2 56600100397790_3 56600100397790_4 56600100397790_5 56600100397790_6 56600100397790_7 56600100397790_8 56600100397790_9 56600100397790_10 56600100397790_11 56600100397790_12 56600100397790_13 56600100397790_14 56600100397790_15 56600100397790_16 56600100397790_17 56600100397790_18 56600100397790_19 56600100397790_20 56600100397790_21 56600100397790_22 56600100397790_23 56600100397790_24 56600100397790_25 56600100397790_26 56600100397790_27 56600100397790_28 56600100397790_29 56600100397790_30 56600100397790_31 56600100397790_32 56600100397790_33 56600100397790_34 56600100397790_35 56600100397790_36 56600100397790_37 56600100397790_38 56600100397790_39 56600100397790_40 56600100397790_41 56600100397790_42 56600100397790_43 56600100397790_44 56600100397790_45 56600100397790_46 56600100397790_47 56600100397790_48 56600100397790_49 56600100397790_50 56600100397790_51 56600100397790_52 56600100397790_53 56600100397790_54 56600100397790_55 56600100397790_56 56600100397790_57 56600100397790_58 56600100397790_59 56600100397790_60 56600100397790_61 56600100397790_62 56600100397790_63 56600100397790_64 56600100397790_65 56600100397790_66 56600100397790_67 56600100397790_68 56600100397790_69 56600100397790_70 56600100397790_71 56600100397790_72 56600100397790_73 56600100397790_74 56600100397790_75 56600100397790_76 56600100397790_77 56600100397790_78 56600100397790_79 56600100397790_80

Descriptif

Nadja, une femme qui écrit, qui dessine, et pas seulement un personnage sur lequel on écrit. Correspondance du plus romanesque et mythique personnage de la littérature surréaliste.

Nadja, une femme qui écrit, qui dessine, et pas seulement un personnage sur lequel on écrit. Soigneusement conservés par Breton, ses lettres et billets révèlent une personnalité qui ne se laisse pas réduire à ce que l'écrivain en a laissé filtrer. Telle trace de rouge à lèvre, tel envoi fervent comme cette « fleur des amants » que Breton fera reproduire pour illustrer son livre suggèrent une histoire d'amour, là où le livre insiste davantage sur le personnage et sa fascination. Relire Nadja à la lumière de ces textes, ce n'est pas prendre le risque de réduire le texte à ses éléments biographiques, mais lui donner un éclairage différent, qu'on aurait envie de dire de biais. Breton ne fut pas seulement fasciné, la rencontre ne se fit pas dans l'abstrait; sous la fascination se joue une relation personnelle, intime, une histoire en somme dont cet ensemble contient peut-être le dernier mot: non pas le texte publié, mais ce courrier d'un médecin donnant à André Breton des informations sur une visite, jamais effectuée sans doute, à celle qui a sombré dans la folie. [site Atelier André Breton, 2005]

Lettres autographes signées, 9 octobre 1926 - 4 mars 1927.
- Vingt-sept lettres autographes signées de Nadja à André Breton, 9 octobre 1926 - 4 mars 1927 sous chemise cartonnée. 23 pages in-4° dont l'une avec dessin original, 1 page in-8°, 16 pages in-16 et 6 pneumatiques. André Breton a daté la majorité des lettres au crayon sur les enveloppes, pour la plupart conservées. L'ensemble est conservé dans une chemise cartonnée ocre rouge, titrée d'une découpe de lettres vertes formant le mot Nadja par André Breton.
« C'est si grand M'amour cette union de nos deux âmes, si profond et si froid cette abîme où je m'enfonce sans jamais rien attendre s'en rien étreindre de l'au-delà, et puis quand je reviens toi tu es là et tes grands yeux me fixent et je te touche te reviens, tu es tout ce qu'il y a de mieux et je t'étreins toi, toi tu es là, mais la mort elle aussi est là, oui elle est là derrière toi. »
« Mon chéri. Le chemin du baiser était beau n'est-ce pas. Et Satan fut si tentant... Mais qu'est-ce que cela après avoir passé une nuit noire... noire ?... ou blanche ! Vraiment je ne sais plus... Mais je redescends toujours seulette l'escalier qui a conduit au bonheur »
« Mon feu. J'aurai voulu vous téléphoner mais, je suis par trop nerveuse et je crains de vous sentir anxieux. Je ne sais ce qui me donne ces idées. C'est peut être d'avoir trop pensé - ou pas assez - puisque je ne sais... Je n'ai pourtant plus de force - oh tant pis - ce n'est pas assez, j'aurai voulu savoir, savoir ce que tu penses, mon adoré... pardonnes, tu sais que je suis ton esclave et que tu es mon tout mais je veux encore plus, je voudrais prendre toutes tes peines, souffrir à ta place je veux que tu sois heureux. Tu es fort, beau, bon, il faut aussi que tu sois le maître et que tous te respectent comme je t'aime. »
« Il pleut encore, ma chambre est sombre, le cœur dans un abîme ma raison se meurt. »
« Merci, André j'ai tout reçu... je ne veux pas te faire perdre le temps nécessaire à des choses supérieures - tout ce que tu feras sera bien fait - que rien ne t'arrête - il y a assez de gens qui ont mission d'éteindre le Feu... il est sage de ne pas s'appesantir sur l'impossible. »
Correspondance exceptionnelle du plus romanesque et mythique personnage de la littérature surréaliste : Nadja. [catalogue de la vente, 2003]

Date1926 - 1927
Notes bibliographiques23 pages in-4°
1 page in-8°
16 pages in-16
Languesfrançais
Noteslettres et enveloppes, pneumatiques - encres diverses, crayon.
Bibliothèque

Bibliothèque littéraire Jacques Doucet, Paris : BRT 43 (1-47)

Vente Breton 2003Lot 2119_1
Mots-clésarts graphiques, correspondance, lettre, Nadja
CatégoriesBibliothèque littéraire Jacques-Doucet, Bibliothèques, Lettres à André Breton
Série[Manuscrits d'AB] Nadja, boîte carton fort sangle cuir
Permalinkhttp://www.andrebreton.fr/work/56600100397790